What is UNESCO?

UNESCO is an acronym that stands for the "United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization." Established more than 50 years ago, UNESCO aims to build peace in the world by encouraging international collaboration through education, science, culture and communication.

What is a UNESCO World Heritage Site?
UNESCO World Heritage Site is a landmark that is deemed by UNESCO to be of great cultural or physical significance. These sites can be a forest, mountain, lake, city, island, monument, building or complex – essentially any space that is determined to be universally important to our history and culture as human beings.

How many UNESCO World Heritage Sites are there?
There are hundreds! The World Heritage List includes 981 properties overall. Broken down into categories, there are 759 cultural, 193 natural and 29 mixed properties in 160 States Parties (countries that have adhered to the World Heritage Convention).

Where can I go to visit a UNESCO World Heritage Site?
There are many World Heritage Sites here in our own backyard, such as Yellowstone National Park and the Statue of Liberty. Africa's countries combined have about four times the United States' number of World Heritage Sites. These include (and of course are not limited to) Lake Malawi National Park in Malawi, the Island of Mozambique, Matobo Hills in Zimbabwe and Namibia's Twyfelfontein.

If you are interested in learning more about UNESCO and the World Heritage Sites, visit the UNESCO website!